The General Pharmaceutical Council (GPhC) has appointed five new members to its governing body. The terms of new joiners Aamer Safdar, Ann Jacklin, Neil Buckley, Penny Hopkins and Rima Makarem will begin on 1 April 2019.

Three current members of the Council, Arun Midha, Joanne Kember and Mark Hammond, have been re-appointed for a second term.

In a statement issued today, Nigel Clarke, Chair of the GPhC, said: “We have an ambitious programme of work ahead and I am sure they will all make a significant contribution to helping us achieve our aims of assuring patient safety and improving quality in pharmacy practice.”

Having completed their two terms, the outgoing Council members, Berwyn Owen, David Prince, Mary Elford, Mohammed Hussain and Samantha Quaye, will step aside at the end of the month.

“I’d also like to thank our outgoing Council members for their hard work and dedication and I wish them all the best for the future,” Clarke added in the statement.

The GPhC began it’s recruitment campaign in September last year seeking five Council members, including three registered pharmacy professionals and two non-health professional members. While Safdar, Jacklin and Hopkins have pharmacy background, Buckley and Makarem are joining the Council as ‘lay’ members.