Williams is nominated for The Excellence in Primary Care Award category for his innovative delivery of exceptional personalised care.

Two community pharmacists were nominated for the NHS Parliamentary Awards by their MPs.

Ade Williams, of Bedminster Pharmacy, Bristol and Olutayo Arikawe, of the Priority Community Pharmacy, have made to the list of 70 individuals or teams shortlisted for this year’s awards.

Williams is nominated in the Excellence in Primary Care category for his innovative delivery of exceptional personalised care.

“Ade is a great example of a pharmacist who really cares about his community. He keeps in touch with GPs to improve services and is always publicising important health campaigns,” said Karin Smyth MP, who nominated Williams.

Williams called this as a testament to the dedication of Bedminster Pharmacy team.

“Knowing that Karin Smyth MP nominated us for the Health Equalities award which was then judged to be the winning regional example of Excellence in Primary Care demonstrates again that wholeheartedly embracing a Healthy Living Pharmacy ethos is how pharmacy’s value and potential in the NHS is unlocked,” he said.

Bedminster Pharmacy is the winner of the Pharmacy Business Innovation Award supported by GSK in 2017.

Olutayo Arikawe is the superintendent pharmacist of the Priory Community Pharmacy, a not-for-profit social enterprise established to serve one of the most deprived areas in Dudley, West Midlands.

She is a multi-award winning pharmacist who has been recognised for her passion for pharmacy and dedication to improving the quality of health of her patients and community.

Arikawe is nominated in the Excellence in Healthcare category by Ian Austin MP.

“I am elated to see pharmacy being recognised for our passion and commitment to our patients. Pharmacy teams are going above and beyond to support the patients and NHS. I am just a representative of our great profession shinning a light on the work that all pharmacy team across England do on a daily basis. I am honoured to be recognised by my MP Ian Austin and to be nominated by him.,” she told Pharmacy Business.

The NHS Parliamentary Awards 2019 will be announced on Wednesday, July 10 in the House of Commons.

If you want to share your stories and/or experiences with us, please send an email to [email protected]