Drug Pricing
(Photo: iStock)

The UK has included an additional 33 to the list of medicines which must not be ‘parallel- exported’ from the country.

The Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) and the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) have announced that the additional restrictions came into place from April 24.

The new restrictions cover specified pharmaceutical forms and strengths of medicines including:

  • Atenolol
  • Azithromycin
  • Bisoprolol
  • Buprenorphine
  • Dexamethasone
  • Digoxin
  • Glycopyrronium bromide
  • Ibuprofen
  • Lisinopril
  • Metoprolol
  • Tiotropium

The DHSC and MHRA have stated that the new restrictions will continue to be reviewed on an ongoing basis, to include any product that meets the criteria including…

  • The medicine is required to meet the needs of UK patients
  • The medicine is either being parallel exported or is at threat of being parallel exported
  • The export of that medicine is either contributing to, or may contribute to, a shortage of that medicine in the UK.

If you want to share your stories and/or experiences with us, please send an email to [email protected]