PHARMACY Support in Manchester annual Trustee meeting.

Pharmacist Support, the independent charity for pharmacists, has appointed five new trustees to its board.

Catherine Harper, Paul Johnson, Esther Sadler-Williams, Neil Matthewman and Sarah Willis start their three-year terms and join existing board members Anita Cawley, Robbie Turner, Sunil Lakhani, Steve Riley, Steve Lutener and Sally Atkinson.

Pharmacist Support chief executive Diane Leicester-Hallam (pictured) said the new appointees would help the organisation move forward following the death last year of its chair Peter Noyce, who died at the age of 70 from a brain tumour.

“This past year has been a challenging one for the charity. The unexpected passing of our chair professor Peter Noyce was difficult for us all,” she said.

“We are pleased to be moving into this new year with new board members and we look forward to working together to shape our support for those in the profession facing challenging times and to continue the vital work that Peter began in ensuring a financially sustainable future for the charity.”

Pharmacist Support said “the five new Trustees bring with them a plethora of experience and skills.”

Matthewman has held a variety of executive leadership roles in NHS commissioning and provider environments and most recently was chief executive of Community Integrated Care which provides health and social care services to adults with learning disabilities.

Willis is an experienced academic, researcher and former company director with a background in the private and public sectors.

Johnson is professional services pharmacist at Buttercups Training Ltd where he is responsible for the management and development of the company’s pre-registration programme.

Sadler-Williams has over 35 years’ experience in a variety of pharmaceutical roles including retail, hospital and industry while Harper is a freelance writer who took early retirement from teaching and the widow of a pharmacist.