Winners of the NHS Parliamentary Awards 2019

Community pharmacists, Ade Williams and Olutayo Arikawe, are joint recipients of this year’s NHS Parliamentary Awards.

They were presented with their respective awards in parliament on 10 July for going “above and beyond the call of duty to make the NHS a better service – with hard graft, exciting new ideas and simply by putting patients first.”

Ade Williams, superintendent at Bedminster Pharmacy in Bristol, won the ‘Excellence in Primary Care Award’, a category dedicated to recognising “the primary care practitioner or team who is working with patients to help them stay healthy in their own homes for as long as possible.”

Ade Williams, superintendent at Bedminster Pharmacy in Bristol (second from left) receives the ‘Excellence in Primary Care Award’

Speaking to Pharmacy Business on Thursday, Williams said he was “shocked, but delighted to win” the award.

“There is no doubt now that there is a groundswell of public and political appreciation for the work of community pharmacies across England. Unprecedented awards like this, demonstrate and acknowledge that. We now look forward to a funding settlement that will usher sustainable pioneering working. The NHS needs community pharmacies to help deliver more, less doubt now that we are able and ready to do so,” he added.

Williams, the winner of Pharmacy Business Innovation Award 2017, was nominated by Labour MP for Bristol South, Karin Smyth who said: “Ade is a great example of a pharmacist who really cares about his community. He keeps in touch with GPs to improve services and is always publicising important health campaigns.”

Olutayo Arikawe, superintendent pharmacist of The Priory Community Pharmacy, a not-for-profit social enterprise established to serve one of the most deprived areas in Dudley, West Midlands, won the ‘Excellence in Healthcare Award’ category.

Organisers of the award called her a “multi award winning superstar superintendent” who has transformed the pharmacy to one that operates right out of the community going to pubs, libraries and shopping centres to deliver care where people are.

Olutayo Arikawe (centre), superintendent pharmacist of The Priory Community Pharmacy, with her ‘Excellence in Healthcare Award’

She was nominated by her local MP, Ian Austin, “for her passion for pharmacy and dedication to improving the quality of health of her patients and community.”

“The work the Pharmacy does on the Priory makes a massive difference in Dudley – offering a wide range of services and community work to improve health as well as running campaigns on health awareness and healthy living,” Austin told Pharmacy Business.

“So I think it’s a great and well-earned achievement for Olutayo and her colleagues!”

Speaking to Pharmacy Business after her nomination in June, Arikawe said: “I am elated to see pharmacy being recognised for our passion and commitment to our patients. Pharmacy teams are going above and beyond to support the patients and NHS. I am just a representative of our great profession shinning a light on the work that all pharmacy team across England do on a daily basis. I am honoured to be recognised by my MP Ian Austin and to be nominated by him.”

Speaking as a judge, Professor Mayur Lakhani CBE, president of The Royal College of General Practitioners, said: “the standard of entry was very high and competition was stiff. To receive recognition in parliament made it doubly memorable and shows the high regard with which Pharmacists are held in Great Britain.”

“I am proud of Ade and Olutayo for being winners in these prestigious awards,” he added.