RPS announces appointment of chairs on RPS Country Boards


Share post:

The Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS) has re-elected Andrew Carruthers as chair of RPS Scotland Pharmacy Board.

Andrew is a Medicines Governance pharmacist within NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde, where he has a clinical commitment to Care of the Elderly. Prior to becoming a pharmacist, he studied Pharmacology at the University of Glasgow, and maintains a keen interest in pharmacokinetics and research.

In his address for the position, he said: “In my second term I want to continue to support and drive the introduction of RPS Ambassadors and the creation of an online RPS community.”

“As a previous RPS local coordinator, I’ve seen first-hand that RPS Local events are a great forum to formally support the training and development of local pharmacists. With input from our members and RPS staff we could share learning, inspire, and enable development, and build a supportive online community for the profession.”

He was the RPS Local Co-ordinator for Greater Glasgow and Clyde for 3 years, then he co-opted on to the Scottish Pharmacy Board (SPB) in 2018 and have been an active and effective member of the board. He was re-elected to the board in 2021 and he stood and was elected as Chair.

The Society also announced the appoinment of Geraldine MacCaffrey as chair of Welsh Pharmacy Board. She joined the Welsh Pharmacy Board in 2021, and took up the role of Vice Chair in 2022. She is currently the Principal Pharmacist for Research and Development at Betsi Cadwaladr Health Board.

She said: “As WPB Chair I will work with our Board to engage constructively in this process, as we continue our leadership on behalf of the profession in Wales and across GB, ensuring we continue to keep the needs of our patients at the centre of our work.”

Erutase Oputu was elected as Chair of English Pharmacy Board (EPB), replacing Govind Thorrun. Speaking exclusively to Pharmacy Business, Govind, who completed her two-year term as RPS England chair on Tuesday, (20 June), said she was “delighted” to work with “such a fantastic board and RPS team over the last two years and to have raised the profile of pharmacy in national media.

“I am also very happy to announce that today I have been elected as a member of the RPS Assembly. I will continue to champion the profession and ensure that not only do we have a seat at the table, but that we are heard.

“It’s been a wonderful experience over the last two years, especially having been involved in the release of the RPS Vision for England as well as collaborating with the Royal College of GPs regarding primary care.

“I was particularly proud to be quoted in Parliament by the Secretary of State, Steve Barclay regarding Pharmacy First. English Pharmacy Bord is in safe hands with the new chair and the vice-chair. We are Pharmacy.”

The Society announced Brendon Jiang as Vice Chair of EPB. Ciara Duffy, Thorrun Govind, Alisdair Jones and Sorbi Khattak were elected to the EPB RPS assembly. Cheryl Way was elected to the WPB RPS Assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Current Issue June 2023

Related articles

Pharmacy bodies decry ‘unjust’ exclusion of pharmacy students from learning support

Three pharmacy bodies have called on the government to allow pharmacy students access to the NHS learning support...

FIP policy statement emphasises pharmacy’s vital role in life-course vaccination

The International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) has issued a new policy statement which encourages a “life-course” approach to vaccination...

Shadow Health Minister Preet Kaur Gill visits pharmacy in Staffordshire

Preet Kaur Gill, Shadow Minister for Primary Care and Public Health, has paid a recent visit to a...

Superdrug to halt single-use vape sales in UK, Ireland due to environmental concerns

British pharmacy chain Superdrug has announced plans to cease the sale of disposable vapes in all its UK...