Clare Morrison, Director for RPS Scotland

Four well-known community pharmacists are among seven newly appointed Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS) fellows in Scotland.

Matt Barclay is director of operations at Community Pharmacy Scotland (CPS). He also still practices when he can on the frontline as a locum community pharmacist. Working with the CPS team, he has had a visible and supportive role – informing the network throughout the pandemic.

Matt has ably represented community pharmacy in discussions with government and other stakeholders. He has significant experience of supporting and developing community pharmacy services for the pharmacy network and people of Scotland.

Leanne Carey is best known in Scotland as a multi award-winning community pharmacy contractor who delivers high quality services to meet the needs of her local patient population.

She is a leading-edge pharmacist prescriber who has been instrumental in realising the Scottish Government’s vision to have independent pharmacist prescribers using clinical skills to examine and treat patients in the community pharmacy setting.

Martin Green had a distinguished career in community pharmacy. He has been a member of the GG&C pharmacy contractors committee and was asked to represent the committee on the Board of the Scottish Pharmaceutical General Council, now renamed as Community Pharmacy Scotland. He was elected chair in 2007, a position he still holds. He has also been a member of the RPS Scottish Pharmacy Board.

Catriona Sinclair is a community pharmacist in the Highlands who has sought to continually develop and improve services, to drive change across the profession at a local and national level, and to ensure pharmacy is valued and recognised by other professions.

She sits on a number of committees including CPS Board, chair of NHS Highland Area Pharmaceutical Committee and vice chair of the NHS Highland Area Clinical Forum. She was involved in the Scottish Patient Safety Programme as one of the first community pharmacies to test and develop tools to improve the safe use of NSAIDs.

Other appointees

Aileen Bryson was at the vanguard of primary care as a senior manager in the NHS leading the way in placing pharmacists into GP practices. As a deputy director and policy lead in RPS she promoted and represented the profession on many public platforms and in the media.

Sean MacBride-Stewart is a lead pharmacist in NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde supporting quality improvement and medicines management activities through the effective analysis of prescription data.

Gordon Rushworth is the Programme Director for the Highland Pharmacy Education & Research Centre, which he set up in NHS Highland in 2015.

Clare Morrison, RPS Director for Scotland, said: “Each member has made a significant contribution to the profession throughout their career and has demonstrated commitment, leadership and excellence in their fields. I congratulate them all on their well-deserved recognition.”

If you want to share your stories and/or experiences with us, please send an email to [email protected]