NPA elects 14 board members for next two years


Share post:

The National Pharmacy Association (NPA) Board has elected 14 Board members on Friday (30 March) that will govern the association for next two years.

Four new Board members have been elected while five previous members left the Board after serving their terms. The period April 2023 to March 2025 will see the completion of the transition to the new Board structure.

The Board will meet again on Monday (24 April) to elect the Chair and other appointments.

Gareth Jones, Returning Officer for the NPA Board elections, said: “The NPA has undertaken a process of significant modernisation of organisational governance over the past years. Key elements of this process include adopting modern new Articles of Association, reforming the structure of the Board and introducing term limits. The process of electing the Board has also been changed so that half of the Board will be up for election every two years – which supports continuity and reduces the risk of a loss of organisational memory.”

“Recognising that the Board would already be losing a lot of organisational memory in 2023 with five members of Board standing down, the Board determined that three individuals should be co-opted onto the new Board as the process of transformation continues. In March 2025, anyone that has served 12 years or more will be required to stand down.”

The full list of the new NPA Board is as follows:

  • Raj Aggarwal (2-year appointment)
  • Jay Badenhorst (2-year appointment)
  • Sukhvir Basra (4-year appointment)
  • Ian Cubbin (2-year appointment)
  • Phil Galt (2-year appointment)
  • Sanjay Ganvir (2-year appointment)
  • Michael Guerin (2-year appointment)
  • Salim Jetha (4-year appointment)
  • Sri Kanaparthy (4-year appointment)
  • Nick Kaye (4-year appointment)
  • Andrew Lane (2-year appointment)
  • Sanjeev Panesar (4-year appointment)
  • Raj Patel (2-year appointment)
  • Olivier Picard (4-year appointment)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Current Issue June 2023

Related articles

MHRA grants authorisation for LEO Pharma’s Adtralza 2 mL pen solution

The Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) has approved the marketing authorisation of Adtralza, a dermatological solution...

Grundon launches maiden UK-wide inhaler recycling programme

Grundon Waste Management has introduced what it claims to be the UK's first verified nationwide inhaler return and...

‘Record fine imposed on hydrocortisone manufacturers for dominant position abuse and 10,000% price increase’

The Competition Appeal Tribunal (CAT) has upheld the Competition and Markets Authority’s (CMA) findings against two pharmaceutical manufacturers...

Vision Report: Legal reforms, adequate funding imperative for success of community pharmacy

Achieving the community pharmacy vision necessitates legal adjustments and additional funding beyond recent boosts, the pharmacy vision document...