The Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS) said its Assembly has decided to cancel this year’s National Pharmacy Board elections.

The professional body said the election would be a “diversion from the key priority of the nation and the profession” as the COVID-19 pandemic spreads in the UK.

“Holding an election at this extraordinarily difficult time is not felt to be appropriate,” it added in a statement.

Nomination window to the positions on the Boards was due to close on 3 April. Board members whose term is set to expire in June will now get an extension of a year.

RPS said these members are expected to step down one year early should they choose to contest election next year and become successful.

The members who will get the extension are:

  • English Pharmacy Board: Martin Astbury, Sandra Gidley, Ash Soni, Mahendra Patel,
  • Scottish Pharmacy Board: Jonathan Burton, Alasdair MacIntyre, Ailsa Power, Deborah Stafford
  • Welsh Pharmacy Board: Robert Davies, Richard Evans, Paul Harris, Suzanne Scott-Thomas

RPS said the decision was taken by the eight of the Assembly members as six others who are members of their respective National Boards – four English Pharmacy Board members and Jonathan Burton and Suzanne Scott-Thomas – recused.

If you want to share your stories and/or experiences with us, please send an email to [email protected]