This site is intended for Healthcare Professionals only.

Michael Scott and Charlotte Skitterall recognised in the New Year Honours list 2023


Share post:

Professor Michael Gordon Scott and Professor Charlotte Anne Skitterall have been recognised in the New Year Honours list 2023 for their ‘service to pharmacy’.

Professor Scott Director, Medicines Optimisation Innovation Centre was one among the 1,107 people to received MBE for his ‘service to pharmacy’ in Northern Ireland. In 1994 he established the first academic practice unit in the province in conjunction with the Queens University of Belfast. In 2004 he was made a fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society of Northern Ireland. In June 2009 he was made an honorary Professor of Pharmacy Practice at QUB.

Professor Skitterall, Group Chief Pharmacist, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust received MBE for ‘services to Pharmacy’. Last year, she was appointed as a Fellow of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society. “I think it was awarded in recognition of the work I have done as chair of the National Medicines Optimisation Clinical Reference Group. I also supported the National Pharmacy Task and Finish Group for Covid Vaccine deployment,” she commented.

This year, dozens of NHS staff have been recognised in the New Year Honours list ahead of the health service’s 75th birthday.

The honours have been awarded to an array of NHS staff including front line doctors and nurses, hospital volunteers and leaders in the world beating Covid vaccination programme.

The head of the NHS praised hard working and dedicated NHS staff across England who have been recognised once again in this year’s list.

NHS chief executive, Amanda Pritchard, said: “Thanks to the hard work of everyone in our skilled, compassionate and dedicated NHS team, we have continued to deliver the best possible care for patients and recover services affected during the pandemic over the last year.

“As the NHS heads into its 75th year, I am delighted to see the fantastic work of so many of my excellent health service colleagues reflected again in this year’s honours, including many for their work during the pandemic and the Covid-19 vaccination programme.

“I want to congratulate all those receiving recognition today for their fantastic efforts”.

Recipients in the New Year Honours List have been awarded for their outstanding contributions across all parts of the UK for their work on areas including sustained public service, youth engagement and community work.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Current Issue March 2024

Related articles

RPS releases general election manifesto: Key asks revealed

It urges the next government to review prescription charges in England and strengthen the UK’s medicines supply...

CCA urges urgent action on shortage of designated prescribing practitioners

It has repeatedly warned NHS England of the likely consequences arising from the lack of designated prescribing practitioners  The...

First pharmacist to lead training initiatives for critical care professionals: Reena Mehta

Spearheading the educational efforts and training initiatives for the Intensive Care Society, Reena Mehta ,the first pharmacist, to...

#Fight4Pharmacies: IPA warns ‘there simply won’t be enough community pharmacies left to deliver PFS”

'95 per cent community pharmacies rely on the NHS to sustain,' according to Fight4Pharmacies petition "If the Government does...