Nick Kaye

National Pharmacy Association (NPA) has appointed Nick Kaye as its new chair on Monday (24 April).

He has taken over the chairmanship from Andrew Lane, who stood down last month after serving his maximum term.

Nick, who part-owns Hendra Pharmacy in Cornwall will serve for two years as NPA chair, after being elected unopposed at the first meeting of the new NPA board.

Jay Badenhorst, Managing Director and Superintendent Pharmacist for Whitworth Chemists in the North East of England, is now vice-chair.

Michael Guerin, the Managing Director and Superintendent Pharmacist of the Medicare group in Northern Ireland, continues as Treasurer.

Nick Kaye said: “As a third generation community pharmacist, I feel very privileged to serve the sector that I love so dearly in this way.

“Andrew will be a hard act to follow. But I can promise my unwavering commitment to independent community pharmacy, with Jay and Michael’s ’s support, plus that of board colleagues and our dedicated executive team.

“The board will continue to pursue with vigour our mission to help independent pharmacies to thrive, professionally and commercially, ultimately benefitting the patients they serve. Pharmacies are under an unprecedented degree of pressure right now – I want to begin to restore hope of better times ahead.”

Jay Badenhorst said: “I’m honoured to be serving as NPA vice-chair. The fact that the sector in England faces the prospect of collapse makes me very conscious of my duty to give my all to the cause.”

The newly elected NPA nominees to PSNC are Ian Cubbin and Olivier Picard.

Andrew Lane will remain on the board for a further two years.

Attending their first formal meetings as NPA board members this week are Sukhi Basra, Sri Kanaparthy, Salim Jetha and Sanjay Ganvir.


If you want to share your stories and/or experiences with us, please send an email to [email protected]